Connect with us

Latest News

Two Arsenal players receive England U21 call-up

Arsenal duo Emile Smith Rowe and Folarin Balogun have both been called up to the England U21 squad for the upcoming international break.

Share this article:
Smith Rowe, Balogun receives England U21 call-up
Image credit: now.arsenal

Arsenal duo, Emile Smith Rowe and Folarin Balogun have both been invited to the England Under 21 squad to face France and Croatia in March’s international window.

Smith Rowe and Balogun who is having a fantastic season on loan in France with Reims are among the 26 players called up by Lee Carsley for the two friendly matches in preparation for this summer’s U21 Euro Finals in Romania and Georgia.

Smith Rowe is having a difficult season since suffering a serious injury in September but has recovered to have a place in the team.

Balogun is enjoying a breakthrough season on loan in France with Stade de Reims, scoring 17 times in 28 Ligue 1 appearances.

His last appearance for the Three Lions’ U21 side came back in September 2022 in a 3-1 win over Germany, where he scored England’s equaliser.

The 21-year old who was not named in the Three Lions squad has a dual-citizenship with the United States of America and has been reportedly monitored by the USMNT.

In a recent interview, the United States men’s national team interim coach Anthony Hudson admitted that he had been in “open dialogue” with Balogun over an allegiance switch.

Born in New York City, Balogun has four appearances for the Stars and Stripes at U18 level.

READ MORE: Arsenal loanee attracting interest from Italian giants.

Folarin Balogun

Arsenal loanee, Folarin Balogun is enjoying a terrific season in France with Stade Reims (Image credit: Getty Images)

The England U21 squad is meeting for the first time since September 2022 when the Young Lions beat Germany 3-1 in Sheffield and 2-0 against Italy in Pescara.

England will play France on March 25th at the King Power Stadium before welcoming Croatia at Craven Cottage March 28.

The England U21 squad:

Goalkeepers: Josh Griffiths (West Bromwich Albion), Anthony Patterson (Sunderland), Carl Rushworth (Lincoln City, loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), James Trafford (Bolton Wanderers, loan from Manchester City)

Defenders: Max Aarons (Norwich City), Jarrad Branthwaite (PSV Eindhoven, loan from Everton), Levi Colwill (Brighton & Hove Albion, loan from Chelsea), Charlie Cresswell (Millwall, loan from Leeds United), Ben Johnson (West Ham United), Rico Lewis (Manchester City) Djed Spence (Stadde De Rennes, loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Luke Thomas (Leicester City)

Midfielders: Tommy Doyle (Sheffield United, loan from Manchester City), Harvey Elliott (Liverpool), James Garner (Everton), Angel Gomes (Lille), Curtis Jones (Liverpool), James McAtee (Sheffield United, loan from Manchester City), Jacob Ramsey (Aston Villa), Oliver Skipp (Tottenham Hotspur)

Forwards: Cameron Archer (Middlesbrough, loan from Aston Villa), Folarin Balogun (Stade De Reims, loan from Arsenal), Morgan Gibbs-White (Nottingham Forest), Noni Madueke (Chelsea), Cole Palmer (Manchester City), Emile Smith Rowe (Arsenal).

NEXT ARTICLE: CONFIRMED: Ramsdale, Saka make England squad, White snub.

Share this article:
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Latest News